Posted by: Ranjith Sankar | April 13, 2009

Passenger shooting over

We completed shooting passenger the day before.

It was shot in 38 days in and around Kochi,Shornur and Guruvayur.Considering the nature of the movie and sequences we had to shoot thats good time.I never felt we compromised even on one shot.

I think the best part about passenger is the casting.You cant actually plan it.It just happens.I cant think of any other people to play Sathyanathan or Nandan Menon or Anuradha Nandan or Thomas Chacko or Anali Shaji or Thankamma rajan or Driver nair.

I think this movie could not have been shot in this manner without our cinematographer P Sukumar.He is such a great technician and a wonderful human being.Working with him and knowing him was a privilege.

I saw the rough cut.I cant judge at this stage on the movie.All I know is that this is a movie which I wanted to see and I have made it exactly the way I want to make it.For the rest I have to wait until May 7th.I could make this without any pressures,special thanks to our producers and distributors.Noone ever demanded additional thrills,or anything.Thats again a great gesture towards a newcomer like me.

I have heard of distributor pressures but I am privileged that central pictures is distributing Passenger.Mr Shaji of central pictures is a great man who has seen Malayalam cinema up close for the past many decades.I am told the only thing he told our producer S C Pillai sir was that this guy should be allowed to make this movie exactly the way he wants providing all resources.So he did.Never was there any scarcity of resources.Our producer S C Pillai has been a wonderful producer.

And the actor who surpised me the most working with has been Dileep.This is a superstar who has amazing sensibility and great cinematic sense.He asks the right questions and looks at cinema as whole than Nandan Menon.I truly think it has been a top notch perfomance.

To sum it up I feel it was a great team effort from a lot of good human beings. I think that goodness has reflected on screen. I hope audience can relate to it.

Its busy days again till May 7th.We have to do the post production fast yet effectively.It needs rerecording which can lift it to another level.

See you all on May 7th.

Responses

  1. […] […]

  2. Congrats and hoping to see it in silver screen soon.

  3. Hey Ranjith,

    I’m eagerly awaiting your movie. Hope it gets released in Muscat in May itself. Or maybe I shall see it in Cochin in June!

    All the best!

    regards
    Uma

  4. All the best
    🙂

  5. Heard about Passenger and read reviews commenting your work as a different thriller. As a (malayalam) film lover, i would like to thank you for trying something different. I would definitely watch the film (hope it comes to bangalore soon) and post my review at http://cinemakazhcha.blogspot.com

    sasneham
    drishyan

  6. Heard about Passenger and read reviews commenting your work as a different thriller. As a (malayalam) film lover, i would like to thank you for trying something different. I would definitely watch the film (hope it comes to bangalore soon) and post my review at Cinemakazhcha.

    sasneham
    drishyan

  7. Uma:)

    Thanks Drishyan

  8. Wish you and passenger all the best !
    Please give aslam a role in ur movie – any stuff that fits him!


Leave a Reply

Categories

