Posted by: Ranjith Sankar | July 5, 2009

Meeting the legends..

I met M. T Vasudevan sir on the sets of Neelathamara last week. And that made me write this. I think I have a problem while meeting legends. I go completely dump!

Lal jose introduced me to MT sir. Lalu tried to explain the merits of passenger to him. To our surprise MT sir started talking to us about Passenger. His daughter Aswathy had seen the movie and very highly recommended it to him. She is a harsh critic according to him. He felt Jagathy Sreekumar has come up with an outstanding perfomance. He talked all this about my movie. I could just stand near him and said Thank U sir. He dint seemed to mind such formalities.

I spend almost half a day at the Neelathamara set. I was sitting very close to MT sir near the monitor still couldnt utter a word. He was my childhood(and still going) hero. He was so near me, I couldnt gather words still! Some spectators were giving me shake hands for passenger. I felt little awkward to receive it sitting near him. I wanted to talk to him in detail on how his writing had infulenced me and helped me shape into a writer. Couldnt speak a word!! I wanted to say a bye to him while leaving from the set. He was a bit busy with someone, then i decided to move on.

I think I have this problem with meeting legends. I remember meeting Sreenivasan for the first time on the sets of Arabikkatha. I was in the sets for 9 days with him, still couldnt speak with him. It was an year later we became friends during the making of passenger.

I remember meeting Bharath Gopi while he was acting in one of my television scripts. We rarely talked. I thought he felt I was too young to write screenplays then.

Balachandramenon was the same when he was doing “Nizhalukal”. We barely knew each other. He met me once in the dubbing studio and thought I was one of the assistants. Later when he realised I was the writer smiled and said “You came to see your character right?”:)

Padmini was a expetion I think. I met her in New Jersey during the shooting of American Dreams. I believe she last acted in American Dreams.

It was a wonderful experience meeting her. We went to shoot in NJ for her convenience. She was not perfectly fit but was very much in control of herself even attending functions regularly.

She used to bring video cassettes of some of her greatest movies and we used to watch everyday after the shoot. I was amazed to realize she along with her sisters used to shoot songs on their own hiring studios and then sell it to producers for them to add in their movies. They used to do conceptual classical dance. Nowadays its item dance!

Remember she was excited like a kid one day as our manager had ordered KFC! She ate quite a lot that day, seems she had restrictions from the doctors.

I used to accompany her for her occasional smoke outside the hotel. She presented me with a watch after the shoot. I wanted to meet her when she was in India later, couldn’t though. Great actress, great memories.

I have thought about this strange behavior of mine. I could only go back to a famous dialogue of M.T.. Probably reinforced with my experiences. Its better to worship your idols at a distance. You get closer, idols may break!

Responses

  1. Ranjith,
    Just watched Passenger.
    Awesome effort, that too a directorial debut.

    Though the “aircrash” tragedy seemed a bit far off and unrealistic from the usual Malayalam movie track,the movie is worth a watch.
    Also,the sermon session from Dileep which spanned for over two minutes did receive some cat calls in the theater I watched (PVR,Bangalore).

    Even after hearing from others about a predictable second half,I liked the second half too.
    Kudos and good luck to you.

    -Nikhil

  2. Dear Ranjith:
    Passenger was a great movie! I agree with Nikhil’s comment about the ‘plane crash’. Wish you continued success in the future.
    Best regards,
    Arun

  3. Thanks Nikhil and Arun

  4. Hi ranjith,

    Completely understand your feelings… This happens many times. Moreover, I have a little more serious strange behavior – while meeting people whom I already know but have recently become famous! This reached its heights when I met my teacher Deedi who is the screenwriter for Gulmohar. We’ve known for each other for over 10 years with a good personal acquaintance. She has been a distant mentor for me and one of the very few who knows my passion to become a film maker. Still, when we first met after Gulmohar was filmed, I couldn’t talk properly.

    Finally I could see Passenger – thoughts are here http://cinemaoutlook.blogspot.com

    OFF: I still wonder what made Lal Jose to remake Neelathamara. Years back, I’ve read the script first and then watched the movie. I felt, neither of them was impressive. The only thing i rather liked was Pappu’s character. In one of MT’s interviews he had said that very little changes have been made to the original script – which further amused me. This single point is making me wait to see that movie.

    Regards
    Drishyan

  5. try my site

  6. Thanks drishyan.All the very best to u.Keep trying.

  7. എന്താ മലയാളത്തില്‍ എഴുതിയാല്‍ ..എത്ര മനോഹരം ആവുമായിരുന്നു

  8. i cant type fluently in mal indu:)

  9. google tanslator ഉണ്ട്..
    മറ്റു ലിപികള്‍ എല്ലാം ഉപയോഗിക്കാന്‍ വലിയ ബുദ്ധിമുട്ടാണ്..
    അത് ഡൌണ്‍ ലോഡ് ചെയ്‌താല്‍..
    എളുപ്പം ആണ്.
    കീമാന്‍,ഇളമൊഴി വരമൊഴി എല്ലാം മിനകെടാണ് ..
    എനിക്ക് വഴങ്ങാറില്ല ..
    ഓര്‍ക്കുട്ട് സ്ക്രാപ്പ് ബുക്കില്‍ എഴുതി പേസ്റ്റ് ചെയ്യുകയാണ് പതിവ്..

  10. I thought the same too at first, regarding the ‘plane crash’. You know, like, isn’t that a bit too far fetched for a Malayalm film? And then when I discussed it with my wife it really hit me and it was clear – if it can happen in real (9/11) why not on reel? Its not something totally impossible to achieve. And at one point in the movie, the taxi driver (Nedumudi Venu), a ‘normal’ civilian asks -‘Can such things really happen in our land?’ – the same way some of us have reacted. And that’s exactly the philosophy, Ranjith’s trying to bring out to the audience – humans take ‘normality’ for granted.

    If John McClane can bring down a helicopter with a car because he was out of bullets, why not this?

    ———–

    ‘We believe in what we perceive and disown the unknown!’ – aBi

  11. renjith
    we have had a discussion on passenger ,in a community called harisree..we dwell in literature mainly..in it a topic called “thirasheela” is monitoring by me
    let me send you some of the comments on your movie passenger

    rini shabari
    ഞാന്‍ അവസാനം അബുദാബിയില്‍ നിന്നും കണ്ട സിനിമ പാസ്സഞ്ചര്‍ ആണ് …………

    പാട്ടില്ല ……… സ്റ്റന്‍ഡ് ഇല്ല … സെക്സില്ല … എനിക്കൊരുപാടിഷ്ട്മായി ………. ചാലകുടി പുഴയുടെ മുകളിലൂടെ പൊകുംമ്പൊള്‍ അറിയാതെ എന്നും ഉറങ്ങുന്ന നായകന്‍ ( ശ്രീനി ) കലര്‍പ്പില്ലാതെ ഒരു സാധാരണ ജോലിക്കാരനെ മനസ്സില്‍ കുടിയിരുത്തി ആ സിനിമ .. കൂടെ മനസ്സില്‍ നന്മയും പൂരവും കുടുബവും ഒക്കെ വികാരമായി ഉള്ളില്‍ നിറച്ച് വച്ചിരിക്കുന്നു ഒരു ക്യാരക്ടര്‍ …………

    എന്നെ സ്കൂള്‍ കാലത്തേയ്ക്ക് കൂട്ടി കൊണ്ട് പോയി ആ ട്രെയിന്‍ യാത്രയുടെ കാഴ്ചകള്‍ ….

    എന്തായാലും അവസാന രംഗമൊക്കെ ഒരുപാട് ചിന്തിപ്പിച്ചു . പേരിനെ വെണ്ടി ഓടുന്ന ഈ സമൂഹം കണ്ട് പടിക്കെണ്ട രംഗങള്‍ …………. നല്ലൊണം ഇഷ്ടമായി ………
    nikhil
    റിനി ചേട്ടന്‍ പറഞ്ഞപോലെ വളരെ നല്ല ഒരു സിനിമയാണ് പാസഞ്ചര്‍. ഞാന്‍ അടുത്തുകാലത്ത് കണ്ട പടങ്ങളില്‍ എറ്റവും നല്ലത് എന്ന് പറയാവുന്നതാണ് പാസഞ്ചര്‍. ആ പടത്തിന്റെ കഥ തിരക്കഥ സംഭാഷണം എല്ലാം രഞ്ജിത് ശങ്കര്‍ ആണ്. അങേരെ ഇവിടെ ( https://ranjithsankar.wordpress.com/ ) പോയാല്‍ കാണാവുന്നതാണ്.
    rini shabri
    അതെ നിക്കി ……….. നിറഞ്ഞ സീറ്റുകള്‍ ………… രാത്രി ഒരുമണിയുടെ സ്പെഷല്‍ ഷോ … അവസാനം ശ്രീനിയുടെ മുന്നില്‍ നിറഞ്ഞ കൈയ്യടി ………….. ഒരു ആളുപൊലും ഇടക്ക് തീയറ്റര്‍ വിട്ട് വെളിയില്‍ പോകുന്നത് കണ്ടില്ല കാരണം സ്ത്ഥിരം കാഴ്ച യാണത് …. പുതിയ സം വിധായകന്റെ ഒരു ലാഞ്ചനയും ആ സിനിമയില്‍ ദര്‍ശിക്കാന്‍ കഴിയില്ല ………… കണ്‍ണ്ടിന്യൂറ്റി ഉള്ളൊരു പടം …
    indu
    അതില്‍ ഒരു തമാശ ശ്രെധിചിരുന്നോ …
    ശീവേലിക്ക് മുമ്പ് എത്തില്ല
    എന്ന് ശ്രീനി വേവലാതി പെട്ടപ്പോള്‍..
    വീട്ടില്‍ ശീവേലി ഒക്കെ ഉണ്ടല്ലേ
    എന്ന ഒരു ചോദ്യം,,
    വീട്ടില്‍ നിലവറ ഒക്കെ ഉണ്ടല്ലേ എന്ന പോലെ
    (ശീവേലി ഒരു പൂജ രീതി ആണ് )

    rini
    http://sooryodayamdiary.blogspot.com/2009/04/blog-post.html

    ഇതിലെ വരികള്‍ … ഈ സിനിമയെ കുറിച്ച് ..

    ഈ ബ്ലോഗ്ഗറുടെ സുഹൃത്താണ് രഞിത് ഷങ്കര്‍

    എന്റെ സുഹൃത്തും കഴിഞ്ഞ അഞ്ചുവര്‍ഷക്കാലമായി എന്റെ സഹപ്രവര്‍ത്തകനുമായ രഞ്ജിത്ത്‌ ശങ്കര്‍ തന്റെ ആദ്യ മലയാള സിനിമയുടെ രചനയും സംവിധാനവും നിര്‍വ്വഹിക്കുകയാണ്‌. ഒരു ഐ.ടി. കമ്പനിയില്‍ ജോലി ചെയ്യുന്ന ഒരാള്‍ ഒരു പക്ഷേ ആദ്യമായായിരിക്കും മലയാളം സിനിമയില്‍ ഇത്രയും പ്രധാനമായ ഒരു ചുമതല വഹിക്കുന്നത്‌.

    ഈ സിനിമ തീര്‍ച്ചയായും നമ്മുടെ മനസ്സില്‍ തങ്ങി നില്‍ക്കുകയും മനസ്സിലെ നന്മയെ ഉദ്ദീപിപ്പിക്കുകയും ചെയ്യും എന്നതില്‍ സംശയമില്ല. ദിലീപ്‌ ശ്രീനിവാസന്‍ ടീമില്‍ നിന്ന് പ്രതീക്ഷിക്കുന്ന കോമഡി ഫാക്റ്ററിനുപരിയായി വളരെ ഫാസ്റ്റ്‌ ആയ ഒരു ത്രില്ലര്‍ ആയിരിക്കും ഈ സിനിമ എന്നതാണ്‌ മറ്റൊരു പ്രത്യേകത. ശക്തമായ ഒരു കഥാപാത്രത്തിലൂടെ മമത മോഹന്‍ ദാസിന്റെ അഭിനയമികവ്‌ വളരെ വ്യക്തമാക്കുന്നു ഈ ചിത്രം. ശ്രീ.ജഗതി ശ്രീകുമാര്‍, ശ്രീ.നെടുമുടി വേണു എന്നീ അഭിനയപ്രതിഭകളുടെ വളരെ വ്യത്യസ്തമായ ശൈലികളിലുള്ള കഥാപാത്രങ്ങളും ഫ്രഷ്‌ ആയ ഒരു വില്ലന്‍ കഥാപാത്രവും ഈ സിനിമയുടെ മറ്റ്‌ പ്രത്യേകതകളാണ്‌.

    indu
    മമത മോഹന്‍ ദാസിന്റെ അഭിനയമികവ്‌”

    എപ്പോഴാ..ഉറങ്ങുമ്പോഴോ..
    സ്വന്തം കഴിവ് കൊണ്ട് ഒരു രംഗം പോലും
    ആ നായിക നന്നാക്കി എന്ന് പറയാന്‍ കഴിയില്ല.
    .ഒന്നാംതരം കഥയും..നല്ല സംഭാഷണവും
    ..ദിലീപ് ,ശ്രീനി,വേണു
    ഇവരുടെ അതി മനോഹരം ആയ അഭിനയവും..
    നല്ല സംവിധാനവും..കഥ പറയുന്നതില്‍ ഉള്ള ശ്രെധയും..
    പുതുമയും..
    എല്ലാം ആണ് ആ സിനിമയുടെ മികവു

    nikhil
    ചേച്ചി സ്വന്തം കഴിവാണെങ്കിലും സംവിധായകന്റെ കഴിവാണെങ്കിലും ആ കഥാപത്രം നന്നായിരുന്നു….ഇനി കുറവുകള്‍ ഉണ്ടായിരുന്നെങ്കില്‍ അതൊന്നും കാര്യമാക്കാന്‍ മാത്രം ഇല്ലായിരുന്നു. ഞാന്‍ ഈ സിനിമയെ പറ്റിയാണ് പറയുന്നത്. വേറെ സിനിമകളില്‍ അവര്‍ എന്തു ചെയ്തു എന്നെനിക്കറിയില്ല.
    sunil raj
    ഹേ..ഹന്ങറിയെ പറ്റി പറയരുത് എന്ന് പറഞ്ഞപോലെ ..
    മംതാ മോഹന്‍ദാസിനെ പറ്റി ഒന്നും പറയരുത്..
    ബഹറിന്‍കാരിയ..ഇടയ്ക്കു ചാന്‍സ് കുറഞ്ഞപ്പോള്‍ ഈയിടെയും ഇവിടെ ഉണ്ടായിരുന്നു..
    ആള് നല്ലവണ്ണം അഭിനയിക്കും..ലങ്കയില്‍ കണ്ടില്ലേ..
    indu
    paasenger

    ആ സിനിമ കണ്ടപ്പോള്‍ അകെ തോന്നിയത്
    അവരുടെ അഭിനയത്തിലെ
    ഒരു പോരായ്മ ആണ് ..
    പലരും അത് തന്നെ പറയുന്നും ഉണ്ടായിരുന്നു..
    പടം..
    ഒരു സംശയവും വേണ്ടാ.
    ഒന്നാംതരം തന്നെ ..
    rini
    കഥ കൊണ്ട് പോകുന്നതില്‍ മംതയ്ക്ക് പ്രാധാന്യം ഉണ്ട് ചേച്ചീ ……….. യോജിച്ച് ശരീര ഭാഷ തന്നെയാണ് ആ നടി അതില്‍ കാഴ്ച് വച്ചിരിക്കുന്നത് ആ സിനിമയില്‍ …..

    തട്ടികൊണ്ട് പോയാലും പത്ത് ദിവസം കഴിഞ്ഞാലും മേക്ക് അപ്പ് മായാത്ത നായികമാരെപൊലെ എന്തായാലും ഇല്ല അതില്‍ .. നല്ല അഭിനയം അതില്‍ ആ നടി സംഭാവന ചെയ്തു എന്നാണ് എന്റെ വിശ്വാസ്സം … ആ മനസ്സിന്റെ ആകുലതകല്‍ മുഖത്തും നല്ലൊണം മിന്നി മറഞ്ഞിട്ടുന്റ് ..

    ( നമ്മുടെ നവ്യ നായര്‍ … ജയസൂര്യ തട്ടി കൊണ്ട് പോയിട്ടും നാളുകള്‍ കുറെ കഴിഞ്ഞിട്ടും മുഖത്തിന് ഒരു കുലുക്കവുമില്ലാ ) ഇമ്മിണി നല്ലൊരാള്‍
    indu
    ഒരു പക്ഷെ മൂന്നു ഒന്നാംതരം നടന്മാരുടെ കൂടെ..
    അഭിനയിച്ചത് കൊണ്ടാവാം മമത അത്ര പോരാ എന്ന് തോന്നിയത്…
    ഭാവന മികച്ച നടി തന്നെയാണ്..
    മുന്‍ നിരയില്‍ നില്‍ക്കുന്ന മറ്റു പല നടികലെക്കാലും..
    വളരെ നല്ല ചില അഭിനയ മുഹൂര്‍ത്തങ്ങള്‍..
    ആ നടിയുടീതായി ഉണ്ട് തന്നു..
    ചില പടത്തില്‍ ഇത് ഭാവന ആയിരുന്നെങ്കില്‍..
    കുറേകൂടി നന്നാവുമായിരുന്നു എന്നും തോന്നിയിട്ടുണ്ട്..
    humor…അത് കണ്ണിലും..മുഖത്തും..
    പിന്നെ ഓരോ അങ്ങന്ങളിലും വരുത്താന്‍ ഭാവനക്ക് അറിയാം ..
    ചില ബോര്‍ സംഭവങ്ങളും ഉണ്ട് പുള്ളിക്കാരിക്ക്..
    പാസേങ്ങേരിലെ മമതയുടെ മുഖം പോലും ഓര്‍കുന്നില്ല ഇപ്പോള്‍ എന്നാണ് സത്യം.
    .അച്ചുവിന്റെ അമ്മയിലെ..
    ഉര്‍വശിയെ പോലെയോ..
    മീര ജാസ്മിനെ പോലെയോ..ഒന്നും
    മമത മനസ്സില്‍ അങ്ങ് തങ്ങി നില്‍ക്കുന്നില്ല..
    എന്‍റെ തകരാര്‍ ആവാം…
    കവിതയുടെ കാര്യം പറയുന്ന പോലെയാണ് സിനിമയിലും..

    hope you enjoyed our coments
    ഒരു നല്ല രംഗം..
    മറക്കാന്‍ പറ്റാത്ത ഒരു സന്ദര്ഫം.
    .കണ്ണീര്‍ നിറയ്ക്കുന്ന ഒരു സംഭാഷണം..
    ഒരു നല്ല തമാശ ..
    കൊടുത്ത കാശ് മുതലാവാന്‍ അത് മതി എന്ന ലളിത ചിന്തയെ എനിക്കുള്ളൂ താനും..

  12. Thanks Indu.Get me ur site address pls.

    Abi,
    Yes the plan had to be something completely legal,else it wud have been very easy for them to stop it.It wud juz take a phone call.Not everyone in the system is corrupt.They can definitely find someone who can mitigate the tragedy.

    We already saw a pvt aircraft crash in kerala!

  13. http://www.orkut.co.in/Main#Community.aspx?cmm=44964114


Leave a Reply

Categories

