Posted by: Ranjith Sankar | January 25, 2010

My Dear Rahul

I got a call from Rahul last week.It was not him calling.but his sister Renju.She was crying loud and said Rahul dint wake up from sleep,hes been taken to the hospital etc.I was shocked myself,still tried to console her.I immediately contacted all my cousins in Thrissur.All phones were busy.Finally got through the info.Rahul is no more among us.

I immediately left for Thrissur.My Amma was crying in the car thinking something had happened to my grand mother.I couldnt gather courage to tell her it was our Rahul.

Rahul was my first cousin.More than that he was my younger brother by all means.He was doing final year MBBS,was one month away from the course completion.He had gone to sleep after watching india srilanka final match,dint wake up the next day.Doctors said it was a paculiar case of cardiac arrest.

Whatever..he was gone..

I remember the day he was born.He was some 7 or 8 years younger to me.He lay there in the Karthiani hospital and I watched him all day.He was born to my most favorite Aunt.Mema wanted to do his thulabharam in Guruvayur with coins.I had a good collection of coins then.I traded them completely for the same.

His father was building a house very close to ours those days.Once that was completed that house became my favorite place.Not a day passed without going there.Rahul was some 3 years old then.One day he told me lot of people are scared of him.I asked who all.He said butterflies,cats,crows..they used to  fly away when he made noise it seems..

I went to his school when he was in LKG.He was taking part in a play.He was shifted to another school later.

He was an avid listener to my stories when he grew up.He must be the person who has heard so many so many screenplays.He was excited when he heard passenger way back in 2003.He felt I should somehow make it.He saw Passenger FDFS with his mother.My other cousins said he was clapping loud when my name came on screen.

My wife was having an urgent surgey some months back.He came rushing hearing it and sat with me in the hospital the whole night.We talked about Arjunan Saakshi then,he was supposed to hear the final draft soon.Oflate we mostly talked movies…maybe since I mostly talked movies.He was my regular visitor during my Thrissur trips.

He was such a good boy..by all means..It was such a nice family..such good people..Sometimes you fail to understand why life is so cruel..Its the 12th day he has left us all.I havent spoken to Mema since,dint knew what to speak.Yes life is busy these days,still at times when I am alone his thoughts arise.I still cry at nights.How can I console his parents?

You feel like researching on afterlife.What happens there?This is a loss which is going to haunt me all my life..

Irreplacable!

………………………………………………..

Thinking over it again and again I have found some relief in this.

Rahul actually lived the best days of a mans life time…in school and college.He did what he wanted,studied what he wanted,was provided with whatever he wanted,never for once faced any problems or difficulties of world and life..He lived like a prince.He had the best of everything in the span he had among us.

He lived in all the blessings and left us before he had to face the agonies and realities of life..

He was a blessed boy..truly!

Responses

  1. May his soul rest in peace….

    we are mostly living in the past or dreaming abt the future….but news of a death especially a sudden death will definitely bring us all to the present. As u said its always nice to make a research on afterlife…

    Anyways wish u a sudden recovery from it…whatelse can I (we the human beings) say than that.

  2. Dear Ranjith,

    Please accept my condolences. May his soul rest in peace. Loss of a near and dear one makes us realize how futile our plans and thoughts can be sometimes. Death is the only certainty in this life.

    Regards
    Suraj

  3. My Condolences.
    Jain

  4. പിറവിക്കും മരണത്തിനുമിടയിലെ ക്ഷണികത മനോഹരമായ ചിത്രശലഭജീവിതത്തിന്റെ അനിവാര്യതമാണ്… നമ്മുടെ കാഴ്ചകള്‍ക്ക് അത് അനുഗ്രഹവും…

    പൂച്ചകളേയും പൂമ്പാറ്റകളേയും മാത്രം ഭയപ്പെടുത്തിയിരുന്ന രാഹുലിന് ആത്മശാന്തി നേരുന്നു.
    അനുശോചനങ്ങള്‍.

    സസ്നേഹം
    സലില്‍ / ദൃശ്യന്‍


Leave a Reply

Categories

