Posted by: Ranjith Sankar | April 19, 2017

Ramante Edanthottam

When did i first think of making Ramate Edanthottam?
Think it was in 2009 after Passenger..I was exhausted and looking for change. Finally reached a resort in  Nelliyampathy.It was a special resort.. the mornings were like heaven and evenings even more beautiful. I woke upto a monkey leading a block of goats..trees talking to themselves..
2nd day morning i took a jeep trecking to Mampara. The Jeep driver struck me immediately. He had a big stick to scare away tigers and elephants:) We reached the peak after a great ride and i felt i was so close to nature..I was still working in software then.It was like a new world opening up before me..
In the 4 days i stayed there I was pretty sure I was gonna shoot a romantic movie there. I could smell romance all around there. Raman was formed there as a Skelton from a combination of that jeep driver and that resort owner.
Years passed and I visited the resort every time i passed through palakkad..wud drive upto nelliyampathy and be there for few hours to feel Ramans world.
It was a scary movie to make so kept it aside everytime. After pretham i suddenly felt if i dont make it now may never make it in my career. Chackochan was equally excited to be raman and even agreed to spend 3 months for preparation.
Sadly by the time i wanted to shoot it ,the resort in nelliyampathy was not fitting enough.Across the years it had transformed into something modern, not Ramans world. I thought i may never find Ramans Ethanthottam. Then it was bijibal who suggested vagamon heights. He had composed for munthirivallikal thalirkkumbol there.
I write dialogues for my movies very late. I went to vagamon heights while i was through half of it and weeks into shoot.. The moment i reached the place i could see the scenes playing out infront of me there. The mud paths,rustic rooms,lakes, mountains, estate, forest.. the place even had the horse and dogs that were there in my script.. It was like a location waiting for me ready to shoot there.
The moment i saw the place all lil apprehensions in my mind regarding the movie had faded away. It was destined to be made and to be shot there.I only had to follow the flow..I have experienced this in few films and the moment u realise it you are relieved. The world will conspire for the rest to fall in place..
I still dint had a heroine. Many leading stars were ready to give their both hands to be Malini.But somehow i felt only the freshness of a newcomer can make it work. Met 100s of newcomers but nothing clicked.
Anu sithara happened days before the shoot.I went to meet her to say a polite NO.But the moment i saw her i saw Malini..I gave her a dialog and she was indeed malini.
There was no looking back from there. I am writing this when am on this fag end of my journey through this film. All I can say is that I am in love with it right now. I want to be detached from it as soon as possible so that i can take ur views on it realistically.
May 12 it is..
Waiting..!!
Leave a Reply

Categories

