Posted by: Ranjith Sankar | November 29, 2021

IFFI 52


I reached goa on a rainy evening last week.On my way to the hotel saw the iffi building and a glimpse of all the festivities happening there.

After checking into the hotel we just decided to take a stroll.The IFFI building was within walking distance from the hotel. The moment I stepped in there it felt special. It was as if the entire india had culturally assembled thereIt was even more special for me as it was the first time ever I was attending a film festival.I felt tremendously guilty on the same but then looking back the reason could be probably that I was like sunny,alone and introverted to celebrate a festival. You need like-minded friends to enjoy a festival maybe.maybe not also.Must be my inherent laziness then.

Next day was sunny screening. There was red carpet,music,interviews,felicitations,accolades,press conference.. First time I was seeing sunny with a live audience.It was special to see how non malayalis and non indians enjoyed and appreciated our small piece of work.

Saw many other beautiful movies which made be realise I have miles and miles to go.Feathers,Night that belonged to lovers, ring wandering etc..A film festival actually is much more than just watching movies. It’s about the atmosphere,discussions, cultural exchanges and much much more..

While returning back from goa I knew I had to revisit.Again and again..


Leave a comment

Categories